Posted by: Paul Hewitt | March 12, 2009

Comment on Midas Oracle re: Enterprise Prediction Market success factors

Clearly, to be successful, an EPM must be more accurate than other means of forecasting, given the cost of setting up and running the market (i.e. benefits > costs). Also, it has to provide predictions for conditions, events or actions, sufficiently in advance, such that the corporation may take action to mitigate losses or take advantage of expected opportunities. The corporation must be able to change course, if the prediction market indicates that this would be wise. If the enterprise is unable to act, even with better information, the value of the prediction is minimal.

A major determinant of an EPM success should be their ability to measure uncertainty regarding predictions of future conditions, events and actions. This would allow corporations to focus their contingency plans (including hedging, insurance, etc…) in the areas most likely to require them (and avoid wasting resources on unlikely future situations).

Of course, the prediction markets must operate effectively, meaning they must have a “crowd”, that has diversity, independence and is decentralized. Ideally, successful markets should not exhibit risk-seeking behaviour by the participants, as most prediction markets are employed to reduce decision-making risk. I fear that most prediction markets employing market scoring rules provide substantial incentives for participants to become risk-seeking. As a “work around” for a failure to attract a “crowd”, MSRs are good for creating liquidity, but not so good for obtaining accurate predictions.

Just a few comments for now.

Responses

  1. Great site this torontopm.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

  2. nice site this torontopm.wordpress.com terrific to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

  3. Hey I am so excited I found your webpage, I really
    found you by accident, while I was looking
    on Digg for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would
    just like to say thanks for a fantastic post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I have saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the fantastic job.


Leave a Reply

Categories

